h1

Musicians and Trump

January 27, 2017

I’m very grateful to Anne-Marie Sanderson for sending me this. And I’m mightily interested in hearing from more of you with links to songs that you or others have written which express your thoughts or feelings about living in Trump’s America. They don’t necessarily have to be protest songs, though protest songs are very welcome. Just leave a comment on this post or email me, and then sometime toward the end of 2017 I’ll put together a compilation for y’all.

Anne-Marie Sanderson – Red Giant

“It’s taken me a while to process what’s happened and what could happen as a result of November’s election. For quite some time I, like so many others, was shocked beyond belief, lost for words, lost in despair. But sometimes inspiration and hope pop up from the unlikeliest of places. In her eloquent Golden Globe acceptance speech (the one where she slams Trump without ever saying his name), Meryl Streep quoted the immortal wisdom of Carrie Fisher: “Take your broken heart and make it into art.” Such a simple turn of phrase, almost cliche, and yet it resonated so strongly with me. So, that’s what I decided to do. Although I wasn’t able to take to the streets in protest this past weekend, this song and video are my own response to Trump’s inauguration and the looming shadow of his presidency. This is my first (and perhaps not my last) protest song.”

 

2 comments

  1. This song wasn’t written about Trump per se, but when I play it these days it seems to be ‘his’ song.


  2. Another British reaction – https://mattcreer.bandcamp.com/track/sing-out



Leave a Reply

